Romans

In short, Romans is a wonderful example of how I completely ignore what God is saying to me, or don’t notice until afterwards. In this case I think it is definitely the former.

I found it to be full of wonderful things about following God and not obeying the desires of the sinful nature (6v2,6-7,11-14,18;,8v5-6,8;13v14, and so on). Which is to say, I went head over heels into doing things that I know are wrong and thought I had got past a long time ago. I suppose that this relevences point number two; that suffering produces perseverence, produces character, produces hope… .

However, I am somewhat comforted by 3v3-4a:

What if some were unfaithful? Does their faithlessness nullify the faithfulness of God? By no means! Let God be true though every one were a liar…

and indeed one of the other messages of Romans, that we are saved by grace.

Amazing grace, indeed.

Comments are closed.