Luke

My read-through updates are so regularly late, it makes it seem like I schedule them :D I do have an excuse in the form of Mr Scratchy!

So. Cute. Er, right.

3. Luke 6:32-36 If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners love those who love them. If you do what is good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners do that. And if you lend to those from whom you expect to receive, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners to be repaid in full. But love your enemies, do what is good, and lend, expecting nothing in return. Then your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High. For He is gracious to the ungrateful and evil. 36 Be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.”

God is kind even to the ungrateful; this definitely challenged me. When we are called to love, we are called to love like this and that is terrifying. And pretty obvious how to apply it – when I want to respond to anything, think ‘how do I respond in love’. I think that is some discipline to get into, there.

2. Luke 6:43-45 “A good tree doesn’t produce bad fruit; on the other hand, a bad tree doesn’t produce good fruit. For each tree is known by its own fruit. Figs aren’t gathered from thornbushes, or grapes picked from a bramble bush. A good man produces good out of the good storeroom of his heart. An evil man produces evil out of the evil storeroom, for his mouth speaks from the overflow of the heart.”

Especially the overflow of the heart part – what comes out of me reflects what is in me and I want to be sure what is in me is good.

3. Luke 6:47-49 “As for everyone who comes to me and hears my words and puts them into practice, I will show you what they are like. They are like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built. But the one who hears my words and does not put them into practice is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. The moment the torrent struck that house, it collapsed and its destruction was complete.”

Related to the first two: solid foundation is in hearing God’s words and putting them into practice. Which is hard, but the only sure foundation.

Comments are closed.