Exams

For most of my peers, the people who I’ve been working alongside for the last few years, today was the last day of university ever. Right now I think they are out getting a well-deserved drink!

For me, it was my first ever medical for disability help. It feels odd that what would have been my last undergrad exam was replaced with that; instead of partying the night away I’ve been lying in the dark, trying to recover.

I’m sad that I’m missing out on so much. I can’t be there doing these things, and I can’t be there celebrating either. It makes me feel like I’m missing out on life. I’m determined not to though – the things that are really important aren’t all lost to me; being disabled doesn’t equal dead. Somehow I can be sad about what I’ve lost, but happy for my classmates. Well done, guys :)

One response to “Exams

  1. Awwww, Lydia. I know exactly what you mean.

    Life is so much more than a degree or a celebration. Your life can have purpose & be fulfilling without those. But sometimes it’s fitting to take a moment to grieve what we have lost even while we celebrate the accomplishments of our friends.

    Standing with you in this time,
    Abigail