Wisdom and words

I spoke on valuing both silence and speaking up, but truthfully, I feel lost in this area. I wish I had the wisdom to know when to speak and when to be silent. To be sure, sometimes it’s obvious – but I feel like those occasions are few and far between.

I’ve noticed some people tend towards keeping silent always. Keeping silent in the actual situation when they desire to speak, anyway, and then ranting about it privately. To be honest I probably tend towards this. Keeping silent when words need to be said can be so damaging, but I know so well how powerful words are, and how powerful still is the rejection of the things of our heart.

It’s true also though, that many tend towards always speaking up, always objecting. In some situations, to not speak up is to side with wrong, and so they decide to always speak up. But speaking up when silence is better is just as damaging – what you say hurts. Words drive bigger barriers than seas between people, and can do more harm than knives. Why do we sing the songs “sticks and stones…”? Not because words don’t hurt, no – but because we want our words of not caring to hurt the one who hurt us! Sticks and stones may break bones, but bones heal within a few weeks, and I’m still broken over words said to me years, decades ago.

There is a time to speak and a time to be silent, but I don’t trust that I can identify either particularly well. I need a lot more wisdom for that. But I also wanted to explain my thoughts about these things – about how both are so important – because it seemed rather incongruent for someone with a blog (of all things!) to claim they valued holding their peace!

Leave a Reply

